DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Clockwise from top left: Carolina de los Santos, Lindsey Cable, MayaBlue Stauffer-MacDowell, Sierra Sullivan,...
by: Jim Hogue Photos
Record Six Hatters Earn All-Atlantic Sun Honors
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  04/12/2011
Share |

DeLand, Fla. - A record-setting six Stetson women's tennis players were named to the All-Atlantic Sun Conference First, Second and Freshman Teams on Tuesday as balloting was released.  The total is one more than the previous record, set just last year.  Sophomore Carolina de los Santos (Montevideo, Uruguay) and senior Unnati Purushotham (Hyderabad, India) earned First Team All-Atlantic Sun honors to highlight the sextet.

De los Santos picked up First Team honors for the second year in a row with a 15-5 (8-2 A-Sun) singles record while Purushotham was 15-4 overall and likewise was 8-2 against A-Sun opposition.  De los Santos, a unanimous First Team selection, and Purushotham played #1 and #2 singles, respectively, all season; the duo also earned Second Team All-Conference mention for their doubles prowess.  The Preseason A-Sun Doubles Team of the Year went 17-2 overall and 9-1 against league competition.  Previously in their careers, de los Santos was the 2010 A-Sun Freshman of the Year and 2010 First Team while Purushotham has placed on the 2008 All-Freshman Team, 2010 Second Team and 2010 A-Sun All-Tournament Team.

Also earning Second Team laurels for doubles was the combination of freshman Lindsey Cable (Gainesville, Fla.) and junior Shannon Gunning (Boca Raton, Fla.).  Cable and Gunning were 14-4 overall when paired together and a flawless 9-0 against A-Sun opponents.  Two years ago, Gunning made the 2009 Atlantic Sun All-Freshman and All-Tournament Teams.

Cable also made the 2011 A-Sun All-Freshman Team, joining classmates MayaBlue Stauffer-MacDowell (Asheville, N.C.) and Sierra Sullivan (Austin, Texas) on that list.  Cable was a huge factor on Court 6 all year, going 16-3 (7-1 A-Sun) this spring with an 11-2 record at the #6 position.  Stauffer-MacDowell and Sullivan, doubles partners who were 11-7 together, had respective singles records of 13-7 (6-4 A-Sun) and 14-6 (6-3 A-Sun) in dual matches; they were both unanimous All-Freshman Team picks.  The former primarily plays #4 singles while the latter takes up residence on Court 5 in singles.

The A-Sun Player of the Year was Eve Castaing of Jacksonville while Campbell's Karolina Chernaya and David Johnson took home Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year honors, respectively.

The Hatters went 16-5 in the regular season with a 7-3 conference mark.  That league record landed Stetson the #4 seed and a 9 a.m. Thursday matchup with fifth-seeded Kennesaw State in the A-Sun tournament quarterfinals; the 2011 Atlantic Sun Conference Championships will be held April 14-16 at the Mandy Stoll Tennis Center on the Stetson campus.  Live Scoring will be available at throughout the tournament along with live streaming of select singles and doubles matches.

FACEBOOK - Stetson Athletics; TWITTER @StetsonSID; YOUTUBE - StetsonHatters

Stetson Women's Tennis