DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video

by: Stetson University
Hatters Achieve High Academic Honors from A-Sun
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  06/29/2012
Share |
Stetson University athletics had a banner year in the class room during the 2011-12 academic year, placing better than 70 percent of the school’s student-athletes on the Atlantic Sun Conference honor rolls for the year.

The league, as a whole, saw its student-athletes perform at a very high level. More than 65 percent of the student-athletes in the Atlantic Sun Conference posted a 3.0 grade point average or better during the 2011-12 competition season, establishing a new record for academic excellence.

“I applaud all who continue to successfully achieve as student-athletes,” A-Sun Commissioner Ted Gumbart said. “To see nearly two-thirds of our student-athletes earn this level of academic distinction means that they certainly are committed to the A-Sun's mission of ‘Building Winners for Life.’ 

“It is important to recognize that this is a team effort, due to the commitment of the athletic administration, coaches and staff of our member institutions, who daily serve as the catalysts for such impressive development of our young people. Congratulations and thank you again to the institutions and to each student-athlete for providing such an outstanding representation of the Atlantic Sun Conference.”
A total of 41 student-athletes earned Presidential Scholar recognition by completing their eligibility with a GPA of 3.8 or better. Among this elite group of scholars, eight received their undergraduate degrees while maintaining a perfect 4.0 GPA including Stetson's Maria Harper (Cross Country) and J.R. Weston (Men's Basketball).

The Hatters had a total of seven student-athletes on the Presidential Scholar list. In addition to Harper and Weston, Stephanie Bird (Cross Country), Jake Boyd (Baseball), Maksim Levanovich and Dane Moran (Men’s Tennis) and Samantha Snyder (Women’s Soccer) were recognized at the highest level for their academic performance.
Another 46 student-athletes claimed Commissioner Scholar recognition for landing between the 3.6 and 3.79 GPA status upon graduation. 

Stetson had eight student-athletes named to that list, more than any other school in the league. Hatters on the Commissioner’s Scholar list were: Carolyn Boyd (Softball), Gonzalo De Mujica and Matthew Delisle (Men’s Soccer), Will Dorsey (Baseball), Jennifer Rinaberger and Crossley Simmons (Women’s Soccer), Njal Stene (Men’s Tennis) and Grace Tuner (Softball and Women’s Soccer).
Conference Scholar recognition was bestowed on another 406 individuals for their sustained achievement over at least two years to go with a 3.4 mark or better. Stetson placed 55 student-athletes on that list.
The A-Sun recognized 1,416 student-athletes as All-Academic selections for their work in the classroom by reaching the 3.0 mark. Additionally, 89 percent of the A-Sun's 18 championship teams had at least half of the student-athletes on their rosters earn All-Academic recognition. 
Four institutions eclipsed the 70 percent mark for All-Academic selections led by Belmont University who took home the Academic Trophy with over 76 percent of their student-athletes earning recognition. Lipscomb's 185 total honorees were the most in the conference and their 74 percent mark the second best while Mercer (73%) and Stetson (71%) student-athletes excelled above the 70 percent barrier as well.

For complete lists of Stetson student-athletes honored by the Atlantic Sun Conference, visit the individual sport pages or click on the links above.

Stetson Athletic Department