DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Ryder Earns A-Sun Second Team Honors
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  06/18/2010
Share |
Sam Ryder's strong season led to All-Atlantic Sun honors.
by: Jim Hogue Photos
View larger

DeLand, Fla. - Stetson sophomore men's golfer Sam Ryder (Longwood, Fla.) has been named to the All-Atlantic Sun Conference Second Team, the league office announced Friday.  Ryder ranked third among all A-Sun golfers with a school record 71.9 stroke average on the season, won two tournaments and finished in the top five on four other occasions.  This is his first career All-Conference award.

Ryder shot par or better 15 times in 28 competitive rounds, including a school record-tying 66 in the first round of the Elon Sea Trail Intercollegiate this past September.  Ryder would go on to finish in the top five in all five fall season tournaments, including three second place ties and a win at the Bethune-Cookman Invitational (Oct. 23-25).  The spring season would bring him two more top 10 finishes, capped off by another win at the Jacksonville State University Young Oil/Grub Mart Intercollegiate (March 22-23).

Ryder follows 2009 First Team All-Atlantic Sun selection Tommy Parker '09 as the Hatters have now produced All-Conference picks in men's golf in back to back seasons for the first time in program history. 

North Florida swept all three major awards as nationally 13th-ranked Sean Dale was named A-Sun Player of the Year, U.S. Open-qualifying rookie Kevin Phelan took the Freshman of the Year trophy and head coach Scott Schroeder was named Coach of the Year for the second time in the past three seasons.  The Ospreys reached the NCAA championship stage and finished 14th in the nation.

Joining Dale and A-Sun Tournament champion Seamus Power (ETSU) on the First Team were Phelan, Rhys Enoch (ETSU) and Josh Gallman (USC Upstate).  Ryder's fellow Second Team selections were Vaita Guillaume (Campbell), J.C. Horne (UNF), Jeff Karlsson (Kennesaw State) and Michael Stewart (ETSU).  Phelan, Blanton Farmer (Lipscomb), Ben Greene (Kennesaw State) and Mercer teammates Matt Kocolowski and William Meason earned All-Freshman Team laurels.

Stetson Men's Golf