DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Stetson Athletics Announces 2009-10 Award Winners
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  06/21/2010
Share |
L to R: Alexandria Buelow, Robert Hodge and Tessa Gavilsky earned...
by: Stetson University
View larger
DeLand, Fla. - At the conclusion of each school year Stetson Athletics announces the winners of its "Departmental Awards". Many deserving student-athletes were nominated by the school's coaching staff and administrators. The department's head coaches and members of the senior staff are eligible to vote and determine the winners each year. The 2009-2010 winners were as follows:

Athlete of the Year Award

On the women's side two well-deserving athletes were voted as Co-Athletes of the Year. Freshman Alexandria Buelow from the women's golf team and junior Tessa Gavilsky from women's soccer share the honor this year.

Buelow was voted as the A-Sun Player of the Year, as well as Freshman of the Year. She set Stetson single-season stroke average record (73.1) and broke par 15 times in 34 rounds. She was 16th in country and 7th in region in stroke average vs. par, was 4th lowest stroke average in country among Div. I freshmen and finished top-5 in 10 of 12 tournaments. Buelow Finished 2nd in A-Sun Tournament, led the Hatters its second consecutive A-Sun title, and finished with the lowest stroke average in the conference.

Gavilsky was named the A-Sun Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. She led the conference in points (30), goals (11) and game winning goals (6). She was also 35th in the nation out of 400 ranked in scoring. Gavilsky became the school's all-time scoring leader with two games remaining in her junior season. Heading into her senior season she has totaled 27 goals and 20 assists for 74 points.

On the men's side senior Robert Hodge of the men's soccer team was voted Athlete of the Year in a close race with Maksim Levanovich from the men's tennis team. Hodge was named the A-Sun's Defensive Player of the Year. As team captain he led the team to the conference championship and a berth in the NCAA Tournament for the second time in school history. He was also named All-Region, First Team All-Conference, and was a member of the the A-Sun All-Tournament Team.

Distinguished Senior Award

This award is presented seniors who in the opinion of the head coaches enjoyed the most distinguished career at Stetson (Academic and athletic performances are considered).

Female: Amanda Lindsey (Softball)             

Male: Griffin Gilstrap (Men's Soccer)

Scholar Athletes of the Year Award

Presented annually to student athletes with the greatest academic achievement. (Must be at least a sophomore and carry a 3.2 GPA.)

Female: Caitlin Peterson (Women's Soccer, 3.991 GPA in Biology)

Female: Andrea Garavaglia (Women's Soccer, 3.92 GPA in Psychology)

Male: Maksim Levanovich (Men's Tennis, 3.83 in International Business)

Male: JR Weston (Men's Basketball, 3.98 in Finance)

R. Dale Melching Leadership Award

Student/athlete that best exemplifies leadership and success in the classroom and on the playing field.

Female: Jessica Lokeinsky (Softball)

Male: Aaron Crittenden (Baseball)

Wendell N. Jarrard Sr. Award

This award for excellence was established posthumously to honor academically talented student athletes who exemplify academic excellence, athletic competition, leadership and moral values.

Female: Colleen Mulholland

Male: Griffin Gilstrap

Stetson Athletic Department