DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Jonathan Mendoza was named to the 2011 Atlantic Sun All-Tournament Team on Sunday.
Mendoza Named to A-Sun All-Tournament Team
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  11/13/2011
Share |

Johnson City, Tenn. - Stetson junior midfielder Jonathan Mendoza (Bogota, Colombia), the Atlantic Sun Conference Player of the Year, was named to the A-Sun All-Tournament Team following the event's conclusion on Sunday. FGCU defeated ETSU 1-0 in the finals to win the title after Stetson tied ETSU 3-3 and was eliminated in a penalty kick shootout late Friday night.

Mendoza forced overtime in Friday's semifinal when, with the Hatters trailing 3-2 in the 90th minute, he sent a cross into the box that deflected off a Bucs defender and into the net for the 3-3 tie. He finished the season with a league-leading 27 points on 11 goals and five assists.

FGCU goalkeeper Nathan Ingham was named A-Sun Tournament Most Valuable Player after shutting out ETSU 1-0 in Sunday afternoon's championship match. Ingham was joined by fellow Eagles Xavier Silva, Josey Portillo, Scott Harrison and Cristian Raudales as well as Mendoza, Mercer's Joey Heavner, Lipscomb's Garrett Pettis and the ETSU trio of Ryan Coulter, David Geno and Aaron Schoenfeld.

The Hatters finished the season 10-5-4 overall and 6-1-1 in the league for second place in the A-Sun standings. Stetson is slated to return for 2012 nine players that started at least 10 matches including Mendoza, A-Sun Defensive Player of the Year Luis Ocejo (Mexico City, Mexico), goalkeeper Andreas Schnabl (Blaichach, Germany) and third-leading scorer Kai Eckenrode (Springfield, Va.).

FACEBOOK - Stetson Athletics (; TWITTER - @StetsonSID (

Stetson Men's Soccer