DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Uploaded Ad
Women's Soccer Tickets Banner
Volleyball Tickets Banner
Florida Hospital Banner Ad
Football Season Tickets Banner
Fly Sanford
Stetson Turns Back UNF, Advances to Finals
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  04/16/2010
Share |
Cesare Gallo won two matches and clinched the victory for the Hatters.
View larger

DeLand, Fla. - The second-seeded Stetson men's tennis team (20-4) came out on top in a see-saw match with third-seeded UNF (18-8) in the semifinals of the Atlantic Sun Conference Championships at the Mandy Stoll Tennis Center on Friday, outlasting the visiting Ospreys 4-2.  Sophomores Cesare Gallo (Portogruaro, Italy) and Maksim Levanovich (Minsk, Belarus) won in singles and doubles for the Hatters; both won in three sets with Gallo providing the match-clinching point.

UNF rallied from a 1-0 deficit after the doubles portion to take a 2-1 lead as Leonardo Nahar and Graham Edgar won on Courts 5 and 6, respectively.  Nahar's 6-1, 6-1 win over junior Alex Hackett (Surrey, England) at #5 singles was the only match to be decided in two sets in the four-hour affair.

Levanovich rallied from a set down to beat Moritz Buerchner 3-6, 6-3, 6-4 on Court 1, drawing the match even; freshman Didrik Berg (Oslo, Norway) followed with a 7-6, 2-6, 6-1 win over Taylor Albrecht on Court 4 that gave the Hatters a 3-2 lead.  Gallo patiently out-pointed Hleb Maslau at the #3 slot by a 7-5, 4-6, 6-3 score to finally end the match in Stetson's favor.  The Hatters have now advanced to five consecutive A-Sun tournament championship matches.

Gallo and Levanovich won at #2 doubles with an 8-2 triumph over Albrecht and Kurt Gattiker while senior Mark Mestan (Cologne, Germany) and sophomore Njal Stene (Oslo, Norway) brought home the doubles point for Stetson with an 8-5 win over Buerchner and Nahar on Court 3.

The Hatters will take aim at their first A-Sun title tomorrow at 10 a.m. as they face top seed and nationally 59th-ranked ETSU.  The Buccaneers have claimed three straight tournament crowns.

Stetson Men's Tennis