DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Austin Perez is one of 46 semifinalists for the inaugural Olson Award.
Perez Selected As Semifinalist for Olson Award
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  05/22/2013
Share |

OMAHA, NE – The semifinalists for the inaugural Gregg Olson Award, presented by Toolshed Sports, have been named, and Stetson junior pitcher Austin Perez is on of 46 players on the list.

Through hard work, strength of mind and determination these players have made the list to honor college baseball's "Breakout Player of the Year".

The award is named after former Auburn Tiger star pitcher Gregg Olson, who became one of the top collegiate players in the nation after an initial season filled with only mixed success. Olson went on to become a two-time All American, first round draft pick, American League Rookie of the Year and MLB All Star.

Like Olson, these players have elevated their game to an elite level and in many instances their team has mirrored their success as a direct result.

Initial nominations were made by sports information/media contacts and the semifinalists were determined by made by an independent panel. A list of finalists is scheduled to be announced on Monday, June 3rd, in conjunction with the conclusion of NCAA Regional play.

The winner of the 2013 Gregg Olson Award will be named in Omaha, Nebraska, during the College World Series which is to be held this season at TD Ameritrade Park from June 15-June 25/26.

(For more information on the candidates visit or )

Gabe Aguilar – New Mexico
Eli Anderson – Northern Illinois
Scott Baker – Ball State
Trevor Belicek – Texas A&M Corpus Christi
Buddy Borden – UNLV
Garrett Boulware – Clemson
Devin Burke – Virginia Tech
Chad Carroll – James Madison
Mike Connolly – Maine
Trace Dempsey – Ohio State
Christian Diaz – Miami, Fla.
Kerry Doane – East Tennessee State
Christiaan Durdaller – Samford
Joey Falcone – Columbia
Austin Fisher – Kansas State
Mike Ford – Princeton
Chase Fowler – Southern Miss
Brent Graham – Campbell
Tyler Grogg – Toledo
Sean Hagen – Eastern Kentucky
Max Homick – San Diego
Ryan Huck – Western Kentucky
Joe Jackson – The Citadel
Ryan Keele – Nebraska-Omaha
Ryan LaGrange – UNC Wilmington
Bobby Lecount – New Mexico State
Trey Masek – Texas Tech
Jeff McKenzie – CSU Bakersfield
Harrison Musgrave – West Virginia
Mike Papi – Virginia
Justin Parr – Illinois
Austin Perez – Stetson
Jake Peter – Creighton
Brandon Peterson – Wichita State
Chad Prain – Georgia State
Austin Pruitt – Houston
Michael Renner – North Florida
Steven Shelinsky Jr. – Pitt
Matt Shortall – UT Arlington
Scott Sitz – Florida Sate
Taylor Sparks – UC Irvine
Cody Stubbs – North Carolina
Michael Suchy – Florida Gulf Coast
Mike Tauchman – Bradley
Ryan Thompson – Campbell
Ben Verlander – Old Dominion

Stetson Baseball