DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video

Cross Country Competes at Atlantic Sun Championships
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  11/02/2013
Share |

NASHVILLE, Tenn. – The Stetson cross country team concluded its 2013 season on Saturday morning competing at the Atlantic Sun Conference Championships in Nashville. The men’s team placed eighth, while the women finished 10th.

The Hatter men totaled 273 points to place eight ahead of Jacksonville and Kennesaw State. Lipscomb won the championship with 26 points after placing five runners in the top nine overall. Northern Kentucky placed a distant second with 82 points, but had the individual winner in JJ Webber who crossed finished the eight kilometer course in 25:05.06.

Freshman Joe Beery led Stetson for the first time this season, placing 55th overall in a time of 27:56.52. Senior Andrew Epifanio was next to cross the line for the Hatters, recording a time of 28:30.70 to take 62nd.

Sophomores Andrew Townes, Cody Malloy and Ryan Hodgins rounded out the scorers for Stetson on Saturday. Townes placed 66th in 29:10.81, Malloy was 69th in 20:02.62, and Hodgins took 70th with a time of 20:24.21.

The Stetson women placed 10th overall with 252 points. Lipscomb completed the sweep, winning the women’s race with 32 points. The Bisons placed five runners in the top 10. ETSU took second with 84 points, but it was Florida Gulf Coast’s Kelly Perzanowski who took home the individual championship after finishing the five kilometer course in 17:21.02.

Freshman Amanda Spring led the Hatters on Saturday, placing 37th overall in a time of 19:43.91. Sophomore Adrienne DeVita was the next Stetson harrier to cross the line, recording a time of 20:07.74 to take 51st overall.

Freshman Samantha Hicks, senior Sabrina Guzsvany, and sophomore Jessica Cosgrove rounded out the Stetson scoring. Hicks placed 54th in 20:10.57, Gusvany was 63rd in 20:28.83, and Cosgrove took 68th in a time of 20:41.45.

Stetson Cross Country