DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Sam Ryder will play in the NCAA Regional at Greensboro, NC, May 17-19.
Ryder Headed To Greensboro For NCAA Regional Play
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  05/08/2012
Share |
INDIANAPOLIS — The NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Committee has selected the teams and individuals to participate in the 2012 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championships.

Stetson University senior Sam Ryder, who earned an automatic berth into the tournament by capturing the 2012 Atlantic Sun Conference Championship Tournament title, will play in the Greensboro, NC, Regional Tournament at the Grandover Resort East Course.

Ryder will see some familiar faces in the regional tournament where he will be joined by East Tennessee State’s Rhys Enoch and Campbell’s Vaita Guillaume. The top team in the regional Auburn. Other top teams in the regional are UNLV, Florida and Duke.

The Atlantic Sun Conference placed four individual players into the regionals in addition to league champion North Florida, which will play as the No. 2 seed in the Athens, Ga., Regional, and Kennesaw State, which received an at large invitation and will play as the No. 7 seed in the Ann Arbor, Mich., Regional. 

SEC champion Alabama is the No. 1 seeded team in the Athens regional field, which will also include the two-time defending national champions from Augusta State. USC will serve as the No. 1 seeded team in the Ann Arbor Regional.

The six 54-hole regional tournaments will be conducted May 17-19. Thirteen teams and 10 individuals not on those teams will compete at each of three regionals while the other three regionals will have 14 teams and five individuals not on those teams. The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals.

The finals will be conducted May 29-June 3, at The Riviera Country Club in Pacific Palisades, California. Southern California is the host institution for this year’s championships.

Listed below are the teams and individuals selected to participate in the championships. Teams winning automatic qualification are designated by an asterisk.

University of Georgia Golf Course — Athens, Ga.

1. Alabama*
2. North Florida*
3. New Mexico
4. Georgia
5. Iowa
6. East Carolina
7. Long Beach State
8. Augusta State
9. Wake Forest
10. Houston
11. Texas-Arlington
12. North Carolina-Wilmington*
13. Loyola (Md.)*

1. Joe David, Mississippi
2. Jacobo Pastor, Charleston Southern
3. Trey Valentine, South Florida
4. Chad Ramey, Mississippi State
5. Sebastian Soderberg, Coastal Carolina
6. Brandon Pena, Florida Gulf Coast
7. James Beale, Mercer
8. David Denlinger, Charleston Southern
9. Kamito Hirai, Winthrop
10. Clay Myers, Jackson State

Grandover Resort, East Course — Greensboro, N.C.
Hosts: North Carolina-Greensboro and the Greensboro Sports Commission

1. Auburn
3. Florida
4. Duke
5. Indiana
6. Liberty*
7. SMU
8. Texas Tech
9. Tulsa
10. Lamar*
11. Louisiana-Lafayette
12. Charlotte
13. George Washington*
14. Mount St. Mary’s*

1. Vaita Guillaume, Campbell
2. Sam Ryder, Stetson
3. Rhys Enoch, East Tennessee State
4. Casey O’Toole, Samford
5. Leo Garcia, Sacred Heart

University of Michigan Golf Course – Ann Arbor, Mich.

1. Southern California
2. Oregon
3. Kent State*
4. Virginia
5. Baylor
6. Oklahoma State
7. Kennesaw State
8. TCU
9. Purdue
10. North Carolina State
11. Notre Dame*
12. Ohio State
13. Navy*

1. Peter Williamson, Dartmouth
2. Matt Thompson, Michigan
3. Sebastian MacLean, Xavier
4. Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota
5. Dan Ellis, Michigan State
6. Tyler Merkel, Ball State
7. Charlie Bull, Akron
8. Chad Ebert, Green Bay
9. William Park, Army
10. Greg Matthias, Delaware

The Club at Olde Stone – Bowling Green, Ky.
Host: Western Kentucky

2. Arkansas
3. Texas A&M*
4. Clemson
5. North Texas*
6. Chattanooga*
7. Memphis*
8. Virginia Tech
9. Northwestern
10. Iowa State
11. Colorado State
12. Jacksonville State*
13. Pennsylvania*
14. Alabama State*

1. Jace Long, Missouri
2. Justin Dorward, Louisville
3. Adam Hofmann, Vanderbilt
4. Emilio Cuartero, Missouri
5. Anthony Bradley, Austin Peay

Jimmie Austin OU Golf Club – Norman, Okla.
Host: Oklahoma

1. Texas
2. Georgia Tech*
3. Washington
4. Florida State
5. Oklahoma
6. Saint Mary’s (Calif.)*
7. Illinois*
8. Middle Tennessee
9. South Carolina
10. San Diego
11. Arizona
12. Sacramento State*
13. IUPUI*
14. Loyola-Chicago*

1. Martin Simonsen, UTEP
2. Kevin Lucas, Nevada
3. Mitchell McLeroy, Stephen F. Austin
4. Scott Willman, Nebraska
5. Alfred Kerstis, UALR

Stanford Golf Course – Stanford, Calif.

1. California*
2. Stanford
3. San Diego State*
4. UCF
5. LSU
6. UAB
7. Wichita State*
8. Tennessee
9. Oregon State
10. Southeastern Louisiana
11. San Francisco
12. San Jose State*
13. UC Davis*

1. Zac Blair, Brigham Young
2. Justin Shin, New Mexico State
3. Josh Anderson, Pepperdine
4. Alex Edfort, Pacific
5. Justin Keiley, Brigham Young
6. Allan Jun, UC Irvine
7. Mason Casper, Utah Valley
8. Johnny MacArthur, Pepperdine
9. Jarred Bossio, Idaho
10. Zachery Fullerton, New Mexico State

Augusta State won the 2011 NCAA Division I Men’s Golf Championship, capturing its second consecutive national title. Augusta State defeated Georgia 3-2 in the final round of match play competition. At the end of three rounds of stroke play, LSU’s John Peterson shot a 5-under-par 211 to capture the individual title. The tournament was held at Karsten Creek in Stillwater, Okla. and was hosted by Oklahoma State.

Stetson Men's Golf