DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Football Single Game Tickets Banner
Uploaded Ad
Fleishel Financial
Volleyball mm
Football mm
Basketball Season Tickets
Florida Hospital Banner Ad
Cesare Gallo and Maksim Levanovich earned All-Tournament Team honors for the Hatters.
by: Stetson University
Stetson Falls in A-Sun Finals to ETSU 4-2
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  04/16/2011
Share |
DeLand, Fla. - Second-seeded ETSU (16-6) captured its fifth consecutive Atlantic Sun Conference men's tennis tournament championship on Saturday with a hard-fought 4-2 win over fourth-seeded host Stetson (20-10) at Mandy Stoll Tennis Center. A-Sun All-Tournament Team honoree Sander Gille won in singles and doubles for the Bucs, who have won all five titles with finals victories over the Hatters. ETSU #1 singles player Grega Teraz claimed A-Sun Tournament MVP honors.

Stetson claimed the doubles point to start the nearly four-hour match as the pairs of Njal Stene/Chris Swanteson and Alex Hackett/Hans Adrian Riseng each won 8-5 to offset an 8-5 ETSU win on Court 2.

Just as they did in the semifinals against Campbell, the Bucs shook off the loss of the doubles point with four straight-set singles victories, getting wins from Gille (6-0, 6-4 over Stene on Court 2), Roger Ordeig (6-1, 6-1 over Riseng on Court 6), Teraz (6-1, 6-0 on Court 1 over Maksim Levanovich) and finally Juan Ramirez in a tense 7-6, 7-5 Court 5 win over Hackett to clinch the championship. Stetson's Cesare Gallo led ETSU's Charles Bottoni in the third set when the Ramirez point was achieved; their match was truncated.


Grega Teraz - ETSU (MVP)
Sander Gille - ETSU
Juan Ramirez - ETSU
Cesare Gallo - Stetson
Maksim Levanovich - Stetson
Moritz Buerchner - UNF

Stetson Men's Tennis