DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Stetson will host the NCAA East Regional at LPGA International May 5-7.
by: Stetson University
Star-Studded Field Joins Hatters in NCAA East Regional
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  04/25/2011
Share |

DeLand, Fla. - The NCAA Women's Golf Selection Committee has announced the 23 teams and six individuals that will be joining three-time defending Atlantic Sun Conference champion Stetson in the 2011 NCAA East Regional May 5-7 at LPGA International Legends Course in Daytona Beach, Fla.  Stetson will serve as the host institution for the event, with the assistance of the Central Florida Sports Commission.  The 24-team field includes 10 conference champions, including those from the SEC, ACC, Big Ten and Mountain West, as well as reigning NCAA champion Purdue and 2009 titlist Arizona State.

The top eight teams out of 24 and the top two individuals from a non-advancing team or the six-golfer individual pool will advance to the NCAA Championships, set for May 18-21 at The Traditions Golf Club in Bryan, Texas.

Third-ranked Alabama and fourth-ranked defending national champion Purdue lead a field that contains four Top 10 teams, eight from the Top 25 and 17 from the Top 50 as determined by the latest rankings.  #9 California, #10 Arizona State (winner of seven NCAA championships, including 2009), #17 Auburn (SEC champions), #18 Michigan State (Big 10 champions), #21 Vanderbilt, #22 North Carolina (ACC champions), #26 Florida, #29 Florida State, #31 Colorado, #34 TCU (Mountain West champions), #37 Louisville, #41 Mississippi, #44 FIU, #46 Texas Tech and #50 Coastal Carolina (Big South champions) are the other GolfStat Top 50 teams competing next weekend.

At-large selections Augusta State and Kentucky join A-Sun champion Stetson, Ivy League champion Yale, CAA champion UNC Wilmington, NEC champion Fairleigh Dickinson and SWAC champion Alabama State in completing the East Regional competition group.  The six individual selections allocated to the East are Shena Yang (USF), Charlotte Lorentzen (Georgia State), Stefanie Kenoyer (Furman), Kelly Shon (Princeton), Maria Ronderos (Miami [Fla.]) and Leigh Whittaker (College of Charleston).

From this group, Purdue, Alabama, Arizona State, Vanderbilt, Florida State, Auburn and TCU all advanced to the 2010 NCAA championship round.

Stetson will be making its third appearance overall and third consecutive appearance in the NCAA East Regional; the Hatters tied for 19th in 2010 at Ironwood CC (Greenville, N.C.) and came in solo 19th at Mark Bostick GC (Gainesville, Fla.) in 2009.  The Stetson lineup features defending A-Sun Player of the Year and 2011 A-Sun tournament champion Alexandria Buelow (Palm City, Fla.) as well as All-Atlantic Sun Tournament Team selection Lauren Cate (St. Augustine, Fla.), and freshman trio Ryan Ashburn (Largo, Fla.), Sammi Smith (Louisville, Ky.) and Mallory Viera (Howey-in-the-Hills, Fla.).

Live scoring for the NCAA East Regional will be available at and linked through

FACEBOOK - Stetson Athletics; TWITTER - @StetsonSID; YOUTUBE - StetsonHatters

Stetson Women's Golf