DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Stetson's Kevin Fagan (left) and Patrick Mazeika were both named to the 2013 Louisville Slugger Freshman...
by: David S. Williams
Two Hatters Named to Freshman All-America Team
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  06/05/2013
Share |

A pair of Stetson baseball players were named to the 2013 Louisville Slugger Freshman All-America team, which is selected annually by Collegiate Baseball newspaper.

The Hatters, first baseman Patrick Mazeika and utility player Kevin Fagan, were among 109 total players named to the team, including eight from the Atlantic Sun Conference.

Mazeika, who was named the A-Sun Freshman of the Year in addition to being the first team All-Conference selection at first base, was one of just three first basemen named to the team. He finished his first season at Stetson with a .382 average to go with three homers, 11 doubles and 33 RBI.

The other first basemen on the team were Justin Montemayor of Houston, who was the Conference USA Freshman of the Year, and Eric Gutierrez of Texas Tech.

Fagan was one of just four players selected as multiple-position players. During his freshman season at Stetson he made starts at second base, in the outfield and as designated hitter while also making multiple appearances, including a start, on the mound.

Fagan finished the year with a .275 average with 25 RBI. As a pitcher he was 2-2 with two saves and a 2.28 ERA.

The other multiple position players on the team were Corbin Olmstead of North Florida, Jacob Cronenworth of Michigan and Matt Rose of Georgia State.

Since 1988 Stetson has had 23 players recognized as Freshman All-Americans. This is the seventh time the Hatters have had more than one player named to the list in the same season.

Past Stetson players named to the Freshman All-America team are:
Tom Hickox, 1988
James Hufstetler, 1992
Kevin Nicholson, 1995
Ned French, 1996
Sammy Serrano, 1996
Frank Corr, 1998
Lenny DiNardo, 1999
Vinnie Rinaldi, 1999
Andy Wilson, 2000
Jack Collins, 2001
Brian Snyder, 2001
Bryan Zenchyk, 2001
Chris Ingoglia, 2004
Shane Jordan, 2004
Chris Johnson, 2005
David Golliner, 2005
Casey Frawley, 2007
Robert Crews, 2008
Nick Rickles, 2008
Mark Jones, 2009
Ryan Lashley, 2010

Stetson Baseball