DonateTicketsEnewsMobile AppsYoutubeTwitterFacebookLive StatsLive Video
Blair Earns Second Team All-Atlantic Sun Conference Honors
Courtesy: Stetson University  
Release:  03/04/2008
Share |
by: Stetson University
View larger

DeLand, Fla. The 2007-2008 Atlantic Sun Men’s Basketball All-Conference Team has been announced and Stetson junior guard Garfield Blair (Orlando, Fla.) has earned second team honors. Blair is one of three players in the A-Sun who led his team in scoring (16.4 ppg) and rebounding (5.9 rpg). Blair has played in 30 games this season and has scored in double-figures 26 times. On January 21 he was named the A-Sun Player of the Week. On the season he hit for three double-doubles including back-to-back efforts at Kennesaw State (24 pts-11 reb) and at Mercer (18 pts-10 reb). The game at Mercer was memorable for another reason. It was the game that Blair reached the 1,000 points scored in a career plateau. Blair scored a season-high 32 points in a win over North Florida in Jacksonville, and registered a season-high 13 rebounds in another road win at Florida Gulf Coast.  


On Thursday Blair will lead his team into the A-Sun Tournament in a first round match up with Gardner-Webb University. The game is scheduled for 2:15 p.m. at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tenn.


2008 A-Sun All-Conference Team

Player of the Year
Thomas Sanders, GWU

First Team
Justin Hare, BEL
Courtney Pigram, ETSU
Jonathan Rodriguez, CAM
Thomas Sanders, GWU
Ben Smith, JU

Second Team
Eddie Ard, LIP
Garfield Blair, STET
Shane Dansby, BEL
James Florence, MER
Kevin Tiggs, ETSU

Freshman of the Year
Nate Blank, GWU

All-Freshman Team
*Nate Blank, GWU
Jordan Campbell, BEL
Ayron Hardy, JU
Adnan Hodzic, LIP
Josh Slater, LIP
* Unanimous Choice

Defensive Player of the Year
Calvin Henry, MER

Coach of the Year

Rick Byrd, BEL

Stetson Men's Basketball